Monday, March 10, 2014

Filipina Beauty Queens Appear on Stamps

The Philippines is known to produce beauty queens in different international pageants such as the Miss Universe, Miss International, Miss World and other pageants.

Gloria Diaz brought prestige to the country by winning the first Miss Universe crown in 1969 in Miami, Florida. Margie Moran grabbed the title in Athens, Greece in 1973 while Miriam Quiambao almost brought home the title in 1999. Others who nearly made it include Maria Rosario Silayan (3rd runner-up 1980), Maria Desiree Verdadero (3rd runner-up 1984), Maria Venus Raj (4th runner-up 2010), Shamcey Supsup (3rd runner-up 2011), Janine Mari Tugonon (1st runner-up 2012) and Ariella Arida (3rd runner-up 2013).

In the Miss International beauty pageant Gemma Cruz won the crown in 1964. The following year, Aurora Pijuan became Miss International followed by Melanie Marquez in 1979, Precious Lara Quigaman in 2005 and Bea Rose Santiago in 2013. Runners-up for the title were Evelyn Camus (2nd, 1971), Yolanda Dominguez (2nd, 1972) and Maria Elena Ojeda (4th, 1973).

The Miss Supranational crown was won by Mutya Johanna Datul in 2013 and became the first Asian to win the title. A year earlier, Elaine Kay Moll was 3rd runner-up. 

The Miss World title was grabbed recently by Megan Lynne Young. Other runners-up include Evangeline Pascual (1st, 1973), Ruffa Gutierrez (2nd, 1993), Maria Rafaela Yunon (4th, 2003), Maria Karla Bautista (4th, 2004) and Gwendoline Gaelle Ruais (1st, 2011).

The world-class beauty of the Filipina is highlighted on Philippine stamps featuring Miss World Megan Young, Miss Universe Gloria Diaz and Miss Universe Margie Moran.

No comments:

Post a Comment