Saturday, April 3, 2010

Cebu Celebrates Tres De Abril Today

April 3 each year is a day of celebration for the Cebuanos. This is the day when Cebuano revolutionaries headed by Pantaleon Villegas, popularly known as Leon Kilat won a battle against the Spanish troops in 1898. That battle came to be known as the Tres de Abril Uprising.

Years ago, I wrote an article about the Cebuanos' victory in my column in the Freeman Newspaper. You can read the story about the Tres de Abril Uprising in Cebu Stamp Club's website by clicking here.

In 1998, Cebu celebrated the 100 years of the historic battle. It was also in that year that I came out with the idea of coming out with a stamp featuring the Tres de Abril uprising.
Together with the support of Cebu Stamp Club executives, Philpost officials and the Cebu City Cultural and Historical Affairs Commission, the idea became a reality. Cebuano artist Jose "Kimsoy" Yap was chosen to do the painting.

On June 12, 1998, the Philippine Postal Corporation issued the Centenary of Philippine Independence Series 6 Souvenir Sheet which included the Tres de Abril Uprising.

The Cebu City Government together with Cebu Stamp Club unveiled the stamp on August 30, 1998 to coincide with the city's National Heroes Day celebration.

The Tres de Abril stamp is Cebu Stamp Club, Incorporated's legacy to the Cebuanos.

In the picture are CSCI Founding President Richard Allan Uy with Philpost 7 Regional Manager and CSCI member Fabiolita Ferraris together with Jose "Kimsoy" Yap Jr. Standing from left are CSCI Executives, Maria Luisa Potian, Rachel Betos, Teresita Caballero, Patricia "Noeng" Perez, Beeling Yap, and Erwin Allan Orosco.

No comments:

Post a Comment