Wednesday, January 25, 2012

50 Years of the Diocese of Malolos

A set of stamps composing of a 7p se-tenant pair and a 40p souvenir sheet is issued by the Philippine Postal Corporation (Philpost) on January 25, 2012 to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the Diocese of Malolos.

The first stamp shows the image of the Virgen Inmaculada Concepcion de Malolos and the anniversary logo while the second stamp features the fa├žade of the Immaculate Concepcion Cathedral and Minor Basilica.

Jesus Alfredo Delos Santo did the stamps layout with Rex Mangalindan and Victorino Serevo as design coordinators. Rev. Fr. Jay Lina, Chairman of the Cultural Heritage Committee supplied the photos.

The Diocese of Malolos that has jurisdiction over the entire Province of Bulacan and the City of Valenzuela in Metropolitan Manila and an Archdiocese of Manila suffragan was created on March 11, 1962 by Pope John XXIII. Rev. Manuel del Rosario was installed by Papal Nuncio Salvatore Siino as the first bishop of the Diocese. Most Rev. Jose F. Oliveros, D.D. is the current and 4th Bishop of Malolos.

No comments:

Post a Comment