Wednesday, June 9, 2010

New Philippine President Proclaimed Today

A historic event unfolds today here in the country. Senator Benigno Simeon "Noynoy" C. Aquino has been formally proclaimed minutes ago as the 15th president of the Republic of the Philippines.

Noynoy won the May 10, 2010 Presidential Elections after garnering a record 15.2 million votes or 42% of the ballots cast in the country's first automated national elections.

The 50 year old bachelor and son of Philippine hero Benigno "Ninoy" Aquino and former Philippine president Corazon "Cory" Aquino formally takes office on June 30, 2010.

No comments:

Post a Comment