Friday, January 29, 2010

Cebu Stamp Club Turns 13!

Yes, Cebu Stamp Club will be 13 years old tomorrow!

I still recall the day when I founded the club on August 24, 1996. There were only a few of us then that included Ricky Teves, Salvador Toong Jr., Patricia Perez, Teresita Caballero, Venezia Milan Uy, Rachel Betos, Ma. Luisa Potian, Fabiolita Ferraris, Erwin Allan Orosco, Anna Lisa Visda, and Virginia Cabaong-Ople.

The first stamp exhibit we had was on December 18-31, 1996. It coincided with the celebration of Jose Rizal's Martyrdom Centennial. The venue was at the Rizal Museum and was later brought to Ayala Center Cebu from January 04-13, 1997.

On January 30, 1997, Cebu Stamp Club, Incorporated was granted it's full charter and immediately began full operations.

The cooperation and dedication of different chairpersons and members composed of young professionals, businessmen, politicians and students as well as reputable institutions such as the Cultural and Historical Affairs Commission (CHAC) of the City of Cebu, the University of Southern Philippines Foundation, Philippine Postal Corporation, Ayala Center Cebu, SM City Cebu, Cebu Association of Museums Inc., Cebu Jaycees Inc. (JCI Cebu), along with various media institutions here in Cebu have made the different civic and philatelic projects and presentations of CSCI successful through the years

To all of them, I extend my sincere gratitude.

Visit Cebu Stamp Club's official website by clicking here. Check out the club's WikiPilipinas site here.

No comments:

Post a Comment