Friday, November 13, 2009

Singapore Hosts APEC 2009

Singapore plays host to this year's Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) meetings. The meetings started in February and will culminate in the APEC Economic Leaders' Meeting on November 14 and 15. This year's theme is "Sustaining Growth, Connecting the Region".

APEC Singapore 2009 aims to build on APEC’s work to date in promoting economic growth, cooperation, trade and investment across the Asia-Pacific region. It focuses in overcoming the economic crisis and positioning member economies for a sustainable recovery in the post-crisis world.

The main areas for discussion during the year are: Positioning for Economic Recovery; Supporting Multilateral Trading Systems; and Accelerating Regional Economic Integration.

The 21 member economies of APEC are: Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Chile, People's Republic of China, Republic of China, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, Republic of Korea, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Philippines, Russia, Singapore, Thailand, United States, and Vietnam.

Philippine President Gloria Macapagal Arroyo left today for Singapore to join the other world leaders.

To publicize APEC 2009, Singapore Post issued the APEC 2009 MEETINGS stamps on November 5, 2009.

No comments:

Post a Comment