Wednesday, June 12, 2013

2013 Philippine Stamp: Malacañan Palace 150 Years

The Philippine Postal Corporation (PHLPost) came up with a new issue on June 11, 2013 to commemorate the Sesquicentennial (150th) Anniversary (1863-2013) of Malacañan Palace. 

The 10-peso stamp shows the facade of Malacañan Palace from the view across the Pasig River. Shown on the stamp is the official government seal of the Republic of the Philippines with the text "Sesquicentennial, 1863-2013". 

A  total of 500,000 pcs. were printed with the design provided by the Presidential Communications Development and Strategic Planning Office, Office of Undersecretary Manuel L. Quezon III. Jose Antonio A. Jayme did the lay-out.
Malacañan Palace is the official residence of the President of the Philippines and is situated in the old Manila district of San Miguel. Records reveal that the property was owned by Luis Rocha, a Spaniard in the galleon trade. It was described as made of stone and a modest country house. 

In 1802, Rocha sold the property to Colonel Jose Miguel Fomento of the Spanish Army. With Fomento's death in 1825, the government bought it and made it as the temporary residence of outgoing Spanish Governors-General who were waiting for the next ship to Spain.

On June 3, 1863, a great earthquake destroyed the Palacio in Intramuros which was then the seat of power of the Spaniards. This prompted the Spanish Governor-General to move to Malacañan Palace. By virtue of a Superior Decree issued on June 11, 1863, it became the official residence of the Governor-General. 

When the Americans occupied the country, it continued to be the official residence of the American Governors-General. From 1935 until the time of the Presidents of the Republic, buildings were added, remodeled, expanded, demolished and rebuilt while adjoining lands were acquired. The years 1978 and 1979 saw the most grandiose renovation of the palace by former First Lady Imelda Romualdez Marcos. 

Malacañan Palace continues to be the symbol of political power in the country. It is the official office of President Benigno S. Aquino III, the 15th President of the Philippines.  

Since 1969, Malacañan Palace has been featured in the PhP 20.00 bill. It used to be at the reverse/back side but in 2010, it was moved from the reverse to the bottom center of the obverse/front.

No comments:

Post a Comment