Thursday, May 9, 2013

Royal Mail's Football Heroes

Here's an interesting  new release from Royal Mail that features football heroes. This issue celebrates the 150th anniversary of the establishment of the rules of Association Football and also coincides with the 150th anniversary of the Football Association and the 140th anniversary of the Scottish Football Association.

The 1st Class stamps feature eleven (11) talented individual footballers from England, Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales who stood out above the rest.  All of these players are included in the National Football Museum's Hall of Fame. 

Stamp 1: Gordon Banks, the greatest keeper to ever play for England.
Stamp 2: Bobby Moore, the legendary English World Cup winning captain.
Stamp 3: John Charles, the finest Welsh player of all time.
Stamp 4: Dave Mackay, a Scottish legend in the field of football.
Stamp 5: Bryan Robson, England's Captain Marvel.
Stamp 6: Bobby Charlton, considered as one of the greatest English footballers of all time.
Stamp 7: Kevin Keegan, two-time European Footballer of the Year.
Stamp 8: John Barnes, a great English winger.
Stamp 9: George Best, a Northern Irish football genius.
Stamp 10: Jimmy Greaves, known as one of the most instinctively gifted footballers in the game's history.
Stamp 11: Dennis Law, the Scottish Football Association’s outstanding player for the past 50 years. 

The stamps were illustrated by Andrew Kinsman who did a great job in creating a composite artwork by placing the players together to achieve a traditional team shot.  

No comments:

Post a Comment