Tuesday, April 3, 2012

It's the Anniversary of The Battle of Tres de Abril

In May of 2007, I came out with an idea to come up with a stamp that will highlight the historic battle of Tres de Abril. Together with Patricia "Noeng" Perez, the Community Affairs Officer IV of the Cultural and Historical Affairs Commission (CHAC) of the City of Cebu, we started to make this concept into a reality. Noeng who is also a member of the Board of Trustees of Cebu Stamp Club, Incorporated gave her full support to the project.

Fabiolita Ferraris, another  member of Cebu Stamp Club happened to be the regional manager of the Philippine Postal Corporation Region 7. She was the link between CSCI with CHAC and the Philpost Stamp Advisory Committee. It was through her efforts that there was a smooth flow of communication between all parties involved. Later on, the Chairman of the Stamp Advisory Committee, Dr. Ngo Tiong Tak who is also a member of Cebu Stamp Club gave his full support too.

The Cebu City Council came out City Council Resolution 3258 during the regular session held at the Sangguniang Panglungsod on June 2, 1997. On June 13. 1997, the city mayor at that time, Hon. Alvin Garcia affixed his signature.

To complete everything, famous Cebuano artist Jose "Kimsoy" Yap was tasked to do the artwork of the famous battle scene. Kimsoy wasted no time in recreating the scene and donated the masterpiece.

On June 12, 1998, the Battle of Tres de Abril became an official stamp as part of the Centenary of Philippine Independence series 6 souvenir sheet.      

I have written the full history on how the stamp came to be, through my weekly column Stamplines in the Freeman newspaper in 1998. A reproduction of the said article is posted at Cebu Stamp Club's official website. You may read the whole story by clicking here


The top most photo features Jose "Kimsoy" Yap with his masterpiece. Seated beside him are Philpost Regional Director Fabiolita Ferraris and CSCI Founder and President, Richard Allan Uy. Standing from left are CSCI Executives Maria Luisa Potian, Rachel Betos, Teresita Caballero, Patricia Perez, Beeling Yap and Erwin Allan Orosco.

Also shown is the Battle of Tres de Abril painting done by Kimsoy Yap. The stamps included are that of the Tres de Abril battle and Pantaleon Villegas, the leader of the Cebuano Revolutionaries.

The Centenary of Philippine Independence Series 6 souvenir sheet that includes the stamps of the Tres de Abril Uprising, the Negros Uprising, the Iligan Uprising and the Philippine Centennial Kalayaan logo.    

No comments:

Post a Comment